Josh Corps

Hi all, I've been having trouble with my battery discharging if the vehicle is not being used. Takes about to weeks to go flat.

I've taken it in as it's covered under warranty and they have come back and said that because it's a new type of van the alternator doesn't charge that battery anymore it just maintains the charge. So to fix the fault they are charging it overnight and sending it home with me tomorrow.

Is this right? I work in the generator industry and this "alternator not charging" goes against everything I know and have been taught.

Poor wording from the dealer.

Clearly it does charge it, but it’ll only charge to about 80%, so it leaves some headroom.

If you coast while in gear, the alternator loads up and produces around 15v which gives you some engine braking, and boosts the battery above 80%. If the battery is well above 80%, the alternator will effectively freewheel under acceleration thus reducing the load on the engine.

This is all part of the BlueMotion technology.

Incidentally, I’ve had a MOLL battery replaced under warranty. They fitted a Varta.

That sounds like a mix up of 2 different issues.
Of course the alternator charges the battery back to a charged state, but there is an ongoing campaign to replace faulty MOLL tyre batteries and charge and test is the procedure prior to a replacement.

Is your starter Battery a "Moll" battery?

Last edited:
I’d certainly be asking for it to be tested with a view to replacement.

My VW Tech chappie had to carry out two separate tests in order to be able to authorise a warranty replacement.

VW Head Office need a printout of the failure and a photograph as proof of failure.

Pete

Ah right. Well, regardless of make, it it’s faulty and under warranty, they should fit a new one. Good luck!