Our T6 build journey...complete beginners!

Rapt0rUK

VIP Member
T6 Pro
I've had so much incredible help from the people on this forum so attempting to give something back and plan to provide a write up of our journey so far in case it helps someone out or i can help with anything we've learnt along the way - plus it keeps all our hurdles in one place and stops me hijacking other threads!!

What I should say upfront is that we are complete beginners with this stuff. I'm fairly handy with basic DIY around the house but know very little about cars and this is our first van so we will be learning absolutely everything along the way.

There's so much info on this forum and hours of content on YouTube so I'm hoping I can short cut some of the searching for newbies like us and outline the key decisions we made along the way and why.

So here's our van, bought from VW Marshals in Scunthorpe back in Nov last year, 2018, T32, LWB, 204ps DSG with 6,000 on the clock.

20191116_131314.jpg

Last edited:
Removing ply lining

First things first was removing the existing ply lining, pretty straight forward, unfortunately lots of screws through the van floor and quite a few in the tail gate, we treated these with red oxide then Hammerite.

IMG_20191227_122648.jpgIMG_20191227_123157.jpg

Behind the ply were the factory fitted hardboard panels, much easier to take the clips out with the correct tools, we bought this fairly cheap trim removal tool set, well worth it, we've used it an awful lot along the way (https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07B7F5T8D/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)

IMG_20191227_132621.jpg

Then it was on to sound deadening, insulation and bulkhead removal

Last edited:
Sound Deadening & Insulation

So there's so much stuff out there on this topic and loads of conflicting opinions... I watched and read it all.

For those that really want to deep dive into the science Greg Virgo covers in detail here: