Renogy DCC50S + 100Ah Smart Lithium Install

Rapt0rUK

VIP Member
T6 Pro
I have a general build thread in the works (Our T6 build journey...complete beginners!) but starting a separate thread for the electrics so that people can tell me in one place if i'm going to set my van on fire.

After much research and deliberation we decided to go the lithium route with our build, you can read why here: Lithium Lifepo4 12v Batteries - - - Time For An Upgrade ? - - -.

Thanks to the heads up by @Dellmassive we got a good deal on a Renogy battery (12V 100Ah Smart Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery) £639 and also went for the Renogy DCC50S for the reasons outlined in the same thread (re: low temp protection all in one box).

So onto the install, never done anything like this before and hadn't been near electrics (aside of a car stereo) since science at school so had a lot to learn and still do!

Useful reading for anyone attempting are the various 'How i done it' threads from Dell, you can find them all here: Dellmassive`s -- "how I Done It" -- Thread

In addition I followed Martyn's (@travelvolts ) guide on how to get from cab to starter battery with a heavy gauge cable etc. https://docs.wixstatic.com/ugd/d959f6_3ed319f968954720a73c38807b437278.pdf

Aside of the battery and charger I forked out on a bit of kit as I imagine i'll be needing it in the future anyway...here's the list:

- USB Charger Voltage Meter - https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07XR82PCW/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
- Lug Crimp Terminals - KANOSON 60pcs Crimp Connectors,Bolt Hole Tinned Copper Terminals Set with Storage Box- Electrical Connectors Crimp Terminals Cable Lugs Battery SC Wire Ring Connectors for Marine, Automotive,Electric: Amazon.co.uk: DIY & Tools
- Wire Cutters/crimps/strippers - Wire Stripper, DANIU Stripper Cutter AWG10-24 Compound Automatic Wire Stripper Plier 3-in-1 Hand Tool Self-Adjusting Cable Stripper, Wire Cutter and T