Where to buy towbar and at what price? DIY

Joblue

I need to get a tow bar fitted to tow a small trailer, I have had a few quotes but just wondered what you guys might suggest as a reasonable price. Also should I get a removable or fixed hitch and will any electric work affect my warranty?

I’ve got a detachable TowTrust towbar and it plugged straight in to the van electrics which keeps the warranty, paid £575 supplied and fitted

I used a local independent for a westfalia detachable and paid 475 + vat so pretty similar to above

Afternoon to the forum users

Im after a good quality tow bar for my 4 Motion. Id prefer the "swan neck" version. I think thats what they are referred to as. VW quoted me £1100 and they need the van for the day. A bit pricey if Im honest but Im new to this so Im uncertain on the costing front

Can anyone out there recommend where's best to buy such a tow bar and get it fitted locally please

South West Cornwall only please

Thank you

Can you not find any local towbar centres or mobile fitters in your area, i would suggest half that cost is a reasonable price

Reactions: Eli
Afternoon to the forum users

Im after a good quality tow bar for my 4 Motion. Id prefer the "swan neck" version. I think thats what they are referred to as. VW quoted me £1100 and they need the van for the day. A bit pricey if Im honest but Im new to this so Im uncertain on the costing front

Can anyone out there recommend where's best to buy such a tow bar and get it fitted locally please

South West Cornwall only please

Thank you

BMW quoted me £1600 for a detachable tow bar. I just found the nearest tow bar fitter to the dealership, and it was the same place they used to fit the one I enquired about. He charged me £650 for the same job, using the same tow bar.

The Vw towbar I believe is a Westfalia tow bar. They have a dealer search on their website which should help you. And mine when
I had it done was around the £600 mark and fitting did take all day.