T6 Euro 6 UK road tax

DA64

Hello. I'm new to the forum.
Anyway, I recently emailed my local MP to ask why Euro 6 vans incur higher road tax than Euro 4 or Euro 5, asking her to take it up with the Chancellor.
She replied, saying she could see no reason for this other than the road tax system for vans is outdated; she said she'd ask the Chancellor and would get back to me when she's received a reply.
If, like me, you have a Euro 6 van (even if you don't have one!), please write to your MP, asking them to pursue this. Maybe, just maybe, if enough people do this, it might make a difference.
(Tip: you'll have to include your name and address so that your MP will be able to respond under parliamentary rules.)

Hi DA64, can you post a copy of your email, I'll copy and paste and send it to mine.

thanks,

Sure. Here it is:

Dear XXXX XXXXXXXXX,

I'm a resident of XXXXXXXXX.

I'm emailing to ask about road tax. I have a vehicle, a van, with a Euro 6 diesel engine and it's costing £320 in road tax. According to the V149 form on gov.uk Euro 4 and Euro 5 engined vehicles of the same basic type cost £140 to tax.

Euro 6 is cleaner than Euro 4 and 5. Euro 6 vehicles such as mine aren't charged in Clean Air zones in Bristol, Bath, Sheffield etc etc, or in ULEZ in London. Euro 4 and 5 are charged in these places.

Why, then, is a cleaner engine such as mine liable to a heavier fee for road tax?

Can you please ask the Chancellor? I'm rather baffled.

Kind regards,
XXXXXXX XXXXXXXX

XX, XXXXXXXXXX Street,
XXXXXXXton,
XXXXXXXshire,
XX12 4XX.

Please spread the word.

This is the reply I received from my MP:

Dear XXXXXX,

Thank you for your email regarding vehicle tax.

You are right that Euro 4 and 5 vehicles still have cheaper van tax, despite the Euro 6 vans being cleaner.

I fail to see any logic behind this – especially given the need to incentivise people to choose cleaner vehicles. I expect the disparity simply comes from how outdated the system of van taxation is.