They can run without an amp but we wouldn't advise it. Mille Pro you will get much better results with an amplifier.

As for the tweeters they are joined in the loom behind the dash buddy
Hi, I could really do with an expert pointer if possible, please. I'm about to start hunting for where this split is - is it nearer the head unit or the doors? Just wondering how many panels I should expect to pull off...

I’m no expert but here’s a thought.

Put the crossover where you want, between the head unit and the door woofer somewhere, then, run a new piece of speaker wire from the crossover to the tweeters. This should save from tearing the whole dash out just to find out it’s not a good place for a crossover.

Hi,

I have a T6.1 converted to a camper and I'd like to improve the OEM audio.

To be honest I read some of the posts on here and it was like reading another language, so go easy on me and assume I know nothing.

My limited understanding is that the first thing to do is improve the door sound deadening? How does that work?

After that upgrade the speakers?

I presume I'd be better off doing those things at the same time?

Any advice would be much appreciated

Sound deadening is indeed an essential first step. It helps to reduce road noise and creates a better environment for any audio system to perform at its best. The stock speakers on VWs often don’t measure up, so you’re on the right track thinking about an upgrade. You don’t need top-of-the-line speakers to notice a significant improvement. Just a decent set should make the audio experience immensely better.