20" wheels with BF Goodrich - kind help requested for the uninitiated

hoddo

Hello,

I acquired my van in early summer. It came with 20" wheels and some of the worse tires I've had the misfortune of using. They're 275/40/20.

I really like the look of the BF Goodrich and the closest match I can find to my existing size is 265/55r20. Is there and easy way to see if they would fit in my arch as they're clearly a little bigger in height. Picture attached, if that helps in any way.

I am a tire novice, just seeking some advice / help.

I am located in Cheshire, so if anyone can recommend a local business who is known to help with such matters that would also be of use.

Thanks, Hoddo

IMG_9790.jpg

Nice Van!
You can't fit bigger profile tyres to those wheels - they will scuff the arches and the speedo will be way out.
You'll need to do down to a 17 or 18" wheel to fit that profile tyre...

Thank you Gordon. Very helpful.

May have to look at a smaller wheel set up or just accept the wheels as is and enjoy the van - replacing the poor existing tires!

Thank you Gordon. Very helpful.

May have to look at a smaller wheel set up or just accept the wheels as is and enjoy the van - replacing the poor existing tires!
What tyre make and pressure are you currently running?
The website WillTheyFit helps with tyre sizing.

When you say poor - do you mean they grip poorly, are noisy or are uncomfortable? Seeing as yours is a camper conversion, what suspension set-up have you got fitted? What weight is the van - T32 / T30 / T28?

Oh and welcome to the forum!

Might even be a case of addressing the suspension if the problem is a generally crashy ride and not just a case of fitting quieter tyres to get rid of road noise.
Steve at CRS has worked a bit of voodoo magic for a lot of the forum members converting a wayward bouncy castle/ commercial vehicle to a more car like handling experience.