Power Upgrade

Mark Howkins

T6 Pro
Keen to look at pushing up the power output of a T6 180 DSG 4 Motion but want to be able to remove any evidence in case of warranty issues.

What's the best option?

They wont know, not sure theres any real way of telling, my dealer told me to do it if i wanted to but warned me if they plug there computer in during a service it will reset the map to factory

if its like the audi one it flags up that something has been fitted even if it has been removed.

yep,I've never used one before but have read that it brings up a flag to say something has been added.If they want to look into it deeper than can probably see that things have been running faster and hotter than normal if it came to a warranty claim. no expert only what I've read. Surprised you need anymore power my 140pulls really well even when fully loaded.

I don't necessarily need more power, better fuel consumption is also an advertised benefit. The extra power is always nice though.

I currently have a T5 174 2.5 Manual that was mapped +7 yrs ago, it pulls like a train....much more than the T6 180 2.0 DSG.

I am going through the same thing with my Audi at the moment which definitely adds a write cycle flag when the ecu is written to, some software is able to remove that flag but most tuners aren't aware/aren't capable of doing so. I bought a replacement ecu from ebay which would get around the issue, 10 miutes to swap and return the car to stock but at the moment I'm struggling to get someone who can copy the immobilser fromm the old to the new ECU.