Newbie considering a high mileage DSG. Should I?? Advice sought please…

ChamFan74

Hi. Looking for a little advice here…

I’ve managed to convince SOH that we should swap our existing A3 for a T6 (previously had Vivaro & Relay campers so not strangers to vans) to use for a mixture of work and pleasure.

Not got the deepest pockets though and need eu6 for future-proofed city driving. In looking around the only vehicle I can find that matches the spec we want at the price we can afford is a 66-plate high mileage T30 DSG with 170k on the clock.

I’ve plenty of experience with vans but no experience with DSG (or with VW tbh), and have always been a manual only kinda guy (for driving on snow here in Scotland). What should I be looking out for here? And is such a high mileage DSG likely to just be a bad idea in the first place? Any advice anyone can give would be most welcome.

Also, doesn’t anyone know of a good independent garage (or 2) in or around Edinburgh? For repairs, servicing and maybe a decent remap.

Cheers!

Hi. Looking for a little advice here…

I’ve managed to convince SOH that we should swap our existing A3 for a T6 (previously had Vivaro & Relay campers so not strangers to vans) to use for a mixture of work and pleasure.

Not got the deepest pockets though and need eu6 for future-proofed city driving. In looking around the only vehicle I can find that matches the spec we want at the price we can afford is a 66-plate high mileage T30 DSG with 170k on the clock.

I’ve plenty of experience with vans but no experience with DSG (or with VW tbh), and have always been a manual only kinda guy (for driving on snow here in Scotland). What should I be looking out for here? And is such a high mileage DSG likely to just be a bad idea in the first place? Any advice anyone can give would be most welcome.

Also, doesn’t anyone know of a good independent garage (or 2) in or around Edinburgh? For repairs, servicing and maybe a decent remap.

Cheers!