Help.. T6.1 Camper or Crafter Camper which should i get??..

VWSAWKS

Crafter
T6 Pro
Hi, so we're a family of 5 (kids are 14, 10 & 3) plus medium dog and we've never had a volkswagen van/camper before. I currently have a Transporter Sportline Kombi LWB on order since April 21 with the plan to have it converted into a Camper when it arrives (if it ever arrives). All this time waiting has got me thinking maybe I should just go straight to a MWB Crafter Camper as it's not going to be a daily driver, just camping with Family and mountain biking with buddy's and camping.

As I'm new to all this I'm looking for some advice from someone that's been there and got the t-shirt so to speak and that can offer their experience/regrets of either owning a Transporter and going to a Crafter or vice versa.

If I'm completely honest my wife isn't really into the whole idea and just says exclude me from the decision as she feels she will rarely come with us.

Sorry for the long post but this whole waiting process on my Sportline has given me far too much time to really sit thinking about it all and it's driving me nuts.

The conversion is being done by Vision Tech Automotive for those who have used them before and can offer up their experience with this company also.

Thanks, Dan.

Last edited by a moderator:
I would hire a camper for a weekend and see how it goes - that's the best way to assess.
My gut feel is that you will struggle with 5 in a transporter based camper.

Peter

I would hire a camper for a weekend and see how it goes - that's the best way to assess.
My gut feel is that you will struggle with 5 in a transporter based camper.

Peter