T6 vs T5.1 differences

Ed Webb

Webber
VIP Member
T6 Legend
Hi guys,
As you can probably tell I'm new to the T6 scene. I had a T4 a few years ago and super stoked to get back in the dub club.
My only observation is when it comes to styling and picking accessories out for my new T6 many of which at the same as the T5.
so my question is, Is there an obvious rule to help me work out when a T5 part will do or when it has to be t6 specific.

As a general rule the T6 is built on the same chassis and body as the T5 so sidebars/roof bars are the same
Rear end - barn doors are the same so spoilers will fit but tailgates are different so spoilers/bike racks do not fit
Front end - completely redesigned so bonnet/wings are different and nothing really carries over
Electrics - this is one of the major changes for T6s, most systems have been redesigned and utilise new control modules so apart from really basic items like interior light fittings everything is different
Interior - obviously the dash has been redesigned but the rest is pretty much the same, seating is similar but the seats are very slightly different in shape and headrests are bigger, so seat covers are different but seats are interchangeable between 5/6 models as utilises the same fixings etc

Last edited by a moderator:
Perfect. So I'm assuming a T5 barn door Fiamma bike rack will fit my T6?
This will help me when looking for my long list of accessories.
Super excited to get the van and start slapping some bling on it!!!

Thanks for your help.

Hi
Has anyone put a rear 5.1 bumper on a t6? Reason I am asking, I have a basic panel van and t6 bumpers are more expensive at the minute. The only difference I can see is the reflectors in the rear of the bumper barn doors are different to a hatch any way so was thinking of buying a 5.1 primed and painting that does any one know if this has been done or can not be done. It’s I don’t want to spend a fortune on a T6 bumper if a T5.1 will fit at half the price.

TIA