Kombi Day Van Ideas

RedUn

Kombi... work in progress
VIP Member
T6 Legend
Evening!

So after fiddling a lot with the van this year its time to start prepping properly for day van usage :thumbsup:

I'm still reading a lot at the moment to work out my plans of what to do and what to avoid but while I do that I thought I'd put something on here...

So my question is, what are the best day van mods you've done and what could you skip if you did it again?

Currently nailed on, is c rail and airbeam awning. 95% on a diesel heater too.

Thinking about removable beds? Slide pod type jobbies? door stores? solar? Leisure batteries? Anything I've not thought about? I've never done this before so it will be my first day van :cool:

Cheers all!

Last edited:
As for removable beds,

for our Kombi we have this - for now... used it all last year and was brilliant!! bought a vango self inflating airbed to go with it for extra comfort

£99.00 Bed That Fits A Swb Kombi Perfectly
Not a bad solution and definitely cheaper than some of the off the shelf kombi beds too!

I'm considering boxing the rear arches to create some storage space and then making something fancy so that it becomes the bed frame also?

Not a bad solution and definitely cheaper than some of the off the shelf kombi beds too!

I'm considering boxing the rear arches to create some storage space and then making something fancy so that it becomes the bed frame also?
that is a popular option for sure... to make it come flush with your Kombi rear bench when thats folded flat is also an idea.... I had all good planning of doing exactly that, but i dont want the seats in when were camping and so the ikea bed just was the right thing to do for the price !!! My future bed will be in the shape of a Hilo Pop Top Roof.... in about 7 years when i have 7k !!!!

If I was going to do a day van, 100% diesel heater, DC-DC battery charger, leisure battery and lots of USBs.