Fitting Fold-on-lock Mirror Relay

andys

Ex member
VIP Member
T6 Legend
If you have any T6 other than a MY17 then you can code in autofold mirrors (providing you already have power folding mirrors) with VCDS, but if you have a MY17 with the incompatible door modules, the only way is by adding hardware.

There was a kit from Travellinlite which seemed a bit expensive, and being a cheapskate I found a chinese equivalent on eBay and bought that, paying £22.89 in Sept 17 according to my purchase history. I have no experience of the Travellinlite one so I don't know how similar it is, so I can only speak about the cheap one. The instructions were really bad and take some working out, while poring over the T6 wiring diagrams to find which connections to use. I'm not remotely an expert in this stuff so there may be an easier/better way of doing this, but what I've done works so I thought I'd put it here for anyone else who is thinking of having a go. Sadly I didn't take any pictures as I was doing it but I'll describe what I did.

First off, this is the kit I used, if yours looks like this with the same wiring colours it's probably the same, but I'll put the function after each one in case the colouring has changed.
IMG_1200.JPG
It basically receives a trigger from the lock and unlock feeds, and when it gets them it sends power to either the fold or unfold connection for about 7 seconds.

First thing, off with the door cards. You then need to unpick the loom close to the window motor and locate the Green/Red and Green/White wires, and cut them. This is the feed to fold/unfold the mirrors and your device is going to sit in the middle.

Now find the Blue/Yellow and Purple wires in the door and expose some of the copper without cutting (you could always cut and strip both ends if you found it easier, but they must be joined back up again afterwards).
These are the unlock/lock feeds.