Where to begin? Complete novice...all advice and suggestions welcome

Hello everyone,

Apologies in advance for my lack of knowledge...after many years of admiring my husband and I have finally decided to jump in and buy a T6. We are hunting at the moment, as I have wanted one for so long my list of must-haves is quite long.

The plan at the moment is to sell my car (standard SUV) and buy Kombi to use as our family car, we are 2 adults, toddler and 2 spaniels.

I am not going to be able to afford to buy and do lots of fancy conversions straight away. What I have in my mind is to buy the van and use pretty much as is over the winter and do minor adjustments so we can use it as sleeper next spring/summer. Gradually developing it, so initial changes would have to have the end result in mind.

What I'd like buy (I think!!)-

T6 Kombi 2.0L Diesel, at least 150ps
67 plate or newer
Reasonable milage
Isofix
Ideally Blackberry or Starlight Blue
Captain seats
LED lights (read this on another newbie thread as a must?)

So questions.... any opinions, suggestions, links to sites/threads, or photos greatly appreciated

1. Am I missing anything off my must-haves?
  2. Should I omit anything?
  3. Manual or auto (I have only ever driven a manual)?
  4. Where to buy?
  5. Anything to avoid/warnings?
  6. Are there any events still running that we can look at vans?
  7. Inspiration for vans that are used as family cars Mon-Fri and campers at the weekend?
  8. Is there such thing as seats that move from normal position to back of van to use as bed?
  9. Inspiration for vans with toddlers or dogs in mind?
  10. Anything else I have missed :D
Thanks again, really looking forward to being pointed in the right direction!

Last edited:
I don't know...I have only ever driven a manual so my first thought is to stick with what I know. Husbands think auto may be a nicer drive in a van?