T6.1 Head Unit screen failing - repair or go aftermarket?

JimDavey

My HU has failed, the screen appears to have stopped working all together. It still lets me plat radio, plus source in via USB C sockets etc and retains all functionality , I just can see any of it ir interact which is far from ideal.
The unit has never been great to be honest.
The van is just out of warently and I could really use a steer / advice of the best way forwards. Would this be to get the unit repaired or to upgrade ?

Im pretty new to this so have no idea whether a replacement unit would still show all of the vehicle errors, updates and data etc ?
I am keen that it does.

Also recognise that the original unit sounded pretty poor to my ears and was glitchy from the outset.
Any and all advice gratefully received, Thanks in advance,

James

My HU has failed, the screen appears to have stopped working all together. It still lets me plat radio, plus source in via USB C sockets etc and retains all functionality , I just can see any of it ir interact which is far from ideal.
The van is just out of warently and I could really use a steer / advice of the best way forwards. Would this be to get the unit repaired or to upgrade ?

Im pretty new to this so have no idea whether a replacement unit would still show all of the vehicle errors, updates and data etc ?
I am keen that it does.

Also recognise that the original unit sounded pretty poor to my ears and was glitchy from the outset.

James
Hiya

We are now seeing 6.1 units failing quite regularly, some have been successful getting a contribution from VW

I’ve had the basic one and discovery media and both have had glitches in 6.1s

The most popular replacement giving great sounds have been the Alpine 905, retaining , operation of vehicles settings from the touch screen, others install them and this setting is moved to the steering wheel, factory camera, parking sensors, SOS retention and the USB c sockets

Drop us a pm or call for more information