Satnav comes up "offroad" with co-ordinates when I enter a postcode

KentKombi

Hi,

I'm a newbie - with a new Kombi that was delivered the day before the lockdown.

(as such the delivery chap was unable to show me around the van / explain how things work)

From day 1, when I punch a post code into the infotainment search screen on Satnav mode, it takes at least 30 seconds of whirring blue icon to come up with "Offroad" with a lat and long set of co-ordinates.
It does not come up with the street name.
When you press start, it does guide you to that place.
But, when you try and look back through the previous destinations, to return there (say a few days later) there is only a list of offroad - lat/long co-ordinates, not the street name or address.
(ie impossible to re-select a previous destination from the list)

It's been back to the dealers 3 times and they have been unable to fix it.

Yesterday, they advised me to sign up for the VW app and see if that works, as there could be "over the air" updates.

I have done this - but it's still the same.

I just wondered if I am doing something REALLY silly or if it's a known issue ?

Regards,

Mark
(EDIT : I added a picture of the problem - might help ?)

VW Transporter satnav issue.jpg

Last edited:
I can‘t help you on the technical side but I don’t think VW have the option of ‘can’t fix it’. They sold you a van, they need to fix it or replace it.

Have you tested the coordinates on google maps?

Thank you for the speedy response.
The co-ordinates appear correct and the satnav takes me to the right place.
But it never shows the destination address (ie Beech Road, Maidstone) - just always shows "offroad" and the lat/long. Even for postcodes that are decades old in really old streets that have been around for yonks.

Every other vehicle I have driven, when you punch in the postcode, it displays the street name (and some a range of house numbers).