Newbie Hillside Starter battery charging question

Dave2

Hi I am new to the Campervan world have recently brought a Hillside Birchover and now have it in storage for the winter. The starter battery voltage has now dropped to 12.2V so I am planning to charge the starter battery. The VW manual is useless in its advice for charging the battery stating it should be undertaken by a qualified workshop as requires voltage limited charging. Having looked on the forum it appears many are using CTEK chargers , having just brought a CTEK MXS 5.0 charger for this purpose I have noticed that the first step in the charging cycle is 15.8V which is I think is higher than a typical alternator output. Am I safe in assumption that the higher voltage will not damage the vehicles electronics - I will connect the charger to battery and chassis so as not to bypass the monitoring electronics.
Any advice appreciated as I don’t want to make an expensive mistake.

CTEK is a good brand, I use that model myself.

Make sure you set the mode to the car (5amp charging) and to the AGM setting (assuming you have a recent 6.1 or 6 with start stop) and leave the reconditioning setting alone. If you are an AGM start stop that voltage is not unusual, but it might not be what you are used to from a traditional system.

The only important thing is to never charge directly to the battery terminals or you will bypass the van's battery monitoring and could disrupt things. Connect the positive to the battery and the negative to some other good metal contact on the engine.

You will generally find that some of the 12v sockets are connected to the starter battery, traditionally it is the one by the gear lever/selector. In which case you can use one of these adaptors to plug the charger in to a mains socket in the van and then to the 12v socket and not have any leads outside the van (assuming you connect EHU)

Wot he said.

CTEK MXS 5 plugged in to van , turn it on for a day every couple of weeks.