New alloys and the effect on TPMS, ABS and more.

My new '21 Kombi is now finished thanks to Leighton and Slidepods. More details and photos shortly. I'm just wading through the (quite long) list of issues...
One thing that worried me is that by fitting larger 20in LV wheels, the TPMS has been deactivated. I wasn't to know as the TPMS factory option was deleted "so I wouldn't worry" however, reading the VW owners' manual I see a LOT of safety systems interlinked / dependent, which actually DOES worry me!
Please let me know what will not be working out of the following:
ABS
ESC
BAS
TCS
EDL
Tyre pressure loss.
Etc etc.
My fear is I'm driving with absolutely no safety systems! I'm a good driver but I'd like some electronic help ;(

There are two versions of TPMS. One, the more common indirect type uses the wheel speed (ABS) sensors to monitor changes in individual wheel speeds indicative of pressure loss.
The other direct type uses pressure sensors in each wheel and an additional receiver to monitor actual pressures "directly".
The indirect type can be coded out but everything else should still work as the TPMS is only one of several systems that use the wheel speed (ABS) sensors. It will not have disabled everything else that uses the sensors.
If it was the direct type it will have no effect on anything else as it is completely separate from then ABS sensors.
I cannot think why the indirect system wouldn't work with any aftermarket wheel as long as they all had the same rolling radius (sometimes front to rear can vary a fraction if fitting staggered widths).
A few people on here have retrofitted direct TPMS to their T6 so maybe someone can comment on why this may have needed disabling. I don't imagine the 6.1 would overly different.

Last edited:
Everything else should still work as the TPMS is only one of several systems that use the wheel speed (ABS) sensors. It will not have disabled everything that uses the sensors.