Changing a Leisure Battery (Advice)

Iainh23

Hi, I am sorry if this is a daft question and I have done a forum search to see if it's been answered before but I couldn't find anything that answers my (probably daft) question.

I have had a T6 Camper for 3 years and the leisure battery is basically totally dead now and not holding a charge, it charges when driving but within an hour or so it;'s totally dead so I need to get a new one, that bit isn't a problem and the battery is located under the drivers seat which I am pretty sure is a job I can do, remove the seat and get the battery out, get the new one in and reassemble, I am a bike mechanic (Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes etc, not Motor Bikes) and so I am proficient with taking things apart and assembling etc so I am happy to tackle the job myself.

The problem I have is I am totally clueless on anything electrical and so I am wanting to know if changing the leisure battery is as simple as remove the seat and battery and then swap? or is this a job where an idiot like me can mess up the electrics, my van had a new starter battery fitted a couple of months ago at a garage but they did not do leisure battery fitting so I am wondering if this is a simple job I can do myself.

All I know about my leisure battery is that it is under the drivers seat, it's connected to a split charger by the main battery and I have an electric hook up fitted at the back of the van, no solar panels or anything else.

So any advice would be most appreciated, is there anything I need to do/know and is this a simple DIY job or do I need to find someone who will do this locally (I am based between Warrington and Wigan)

In simple terms, yes it is that easy.

Practically, you need to get a replacement that is ideally exactly the same size and layout as your current one, otherwise you may have to redo cables and battery securing clamps.

If you have a DC-DC charger, then that may need to be connected to the 2 batteries in the correct sequence.