Aftermarket Dead Locks

Milarepa

VIP Member
T6 Pro
Hello all,
New member, picking up first van on 2nd Dec....very excited. Thinking about getting a Ghost immobiliser.
But also thinking off getting aftermarket dead locks fitted. Does anyone know of a good mobile fitter in Essex area.
My van is a 2016 T6 Highline conversion. Barn doors.
Anyone know of problems with such an idea.
Complete newbie here.

Thank you.

I will be using my transporter for a work vehicle as a contractor so will be carrying tools and equipment 24/7.

I currently have a ex bg caddy maxi which came to me with a large external mounted deadlock on the rear twin doors that I lock daily which gives me piece of mind.

Obviously the new van won’t have anything like that from new so it’s got me thinking about getting something installed.

I have seen other vans on the road with locks that are fitted into the doors so all that is exposed is a small lock as attached image.

What are peoples thoughts on these?

Is additional mechanical security required on 6.1s? Or are they already difficult to gain entry to?

Are these locks prone to making the van rust as metal needs to be cut etc?

Any advice very much appreciated!

35FA17FF-0FC3-4CF0-BE4D-AC28A7EE49F7.jpeg

IMO it's the sliding door that needs one of those locks as the normal deadlocks are fine on the front doors. The sliding door has a weakness exploited by thieves when they drill a small hole and pull the cable to release the catch.

Last edited:
My T6 has been broken into. Its very quick and easy when you know how.
I now have deadlocks fitted, and last time, they did not get in due to the extra locks.
They also did about 5k of damage, whilst trying, but got no tools.
I've just had some fitted to a Vivaro, which also got emptied last week.
Locks were £150 each, fitted. The guy did say, if I called direct, they would be £100 each.
Depends if you want your van damaged or emptied of tools.

I think that settles it then! Ha