Adding solar to existing set up?

Purdmacher

Hi,

Recently got our first T6, don't know a huge amount about electrics and didn't realise the 3-pin sockets only work when on the hook-up (schoolboy, I know). Got the 12V socket working again after changing the fuse but we often camp off-grid and wouldn't mind being able to make a toastie every once in a while. Is it possible to add a solar set up to an existing system? Not likely to do it myself unless it's very easy but wondering if I'm barking up the wrong tree.

Thanks!

Do you have an inverter in the van to give you 240v for your toastie machine ?
By the sound of it you haven’t, but to run one you will need a decent capacity leisure battery and the solar can then top this up.

So to answer your question, yes you can add solar, but it depends what equipment you have now.

Pete

No inverter currently, I did suspect this would be necessary to run any additional appliances.

As a complete newbie to it, would something like this 200W solar kit be ample?

And inverter wise, would 1000W be too much or too little? This seems reasonably priced:

Making a toastie is challenging off grid - anything electric that heats (kettle, heater, toaster, girdle) requires quite a substantial battery and inverter system, you want to be really certain you want that off grid before you spend the money and sacrifice the space on the equipment compared to doing something like using a Ridgemonkey on the gas stove which costs substantially less.

Solar is easier, you need to decide if you want a permanent installation on the roof or portable panels - lots of examples and advice on both around the forum.

Reactions: CAB
See this thread

Thank you, very useful thread.