Tripping campsite electrics

Gavandi

VIP Member
T6 Guru
newbie here so sorry if basic question.
Just returned from Spain/France. On a couple of campsites we managed to trip the electric hookup and weren't able to use the site electrics.
Only running a fridge/LED lights/water pump/sockets so nothing major.
Difficult to work out why our T6 tripped mains when other bigger outfits seemed ok?
Any body else had issues or any advice for novices?
Cheers

Hi
Yes that's what I thought but 3 others were hooked up and ok.
We came along and plugged in and knocked them all out!
Didn't help the Brexit negotiations!!

Could have been reversed polarity. Sometimes European campsites are wired back to front (for want of a better phrase). When you turn up with your correctly wired to BS7671 camper conversion you basically introduce a short circuit to the pillar. Most camping shops sell a short adapter that crosses the wires at your hookup which should sort your problem next time it occurs.

Ta. I borrowed a tester off a "veteran" and it wasn't that either. At that point we had no juice apart from leisure battery.
Later in trip someone said it may be that the site EHU may have been low i.e. 8 amps.
And we needed something more than 10??
But....it still doesn't explain why the big units were all ok?

Did you try just connecting yourself in with the others disconnected?
Could have been your extra current on top of theirs?

We've been on sites with 6amps before and I've run the hairdryer with no problem...did trip with the kettle on at the same time!

I think that happened at one site.
But on another we took out the other 3 and still ours tripped it.
Silly question but we had been travelling so our leisure battery was full.....would this cause a surge on hookup? And trip the EHU?

Silly question but we had been travelling so our leisure battery was full.....would this cause a surge on hookup? And trip the EHU?