Towing capability / advice 102bhp

Hi all.

So I’ve finally got round to buying a transporter T28 102bhp, the only concern I have is that it will not have enough grunt for towing my caravan (weight 1.3t). Has anyone remapped theirs to improve and how did it work, did it damage the engine/gearbox in any way, or have towing experiences with this model standard? Any help/advice would be hugely appreciated I’m totally new to the vw transporter world.

I have the same van as standard and tow my caravan with no problems, my old T5 was mapped to 140bhp and was no better than the standard T6 is.

There are many people who buy a van and want it to be a sports saloon remap it etc then moan the clutch is carp and tyres only last 8 000 miles. It’s a van that will pull a heavy trailer and carry a load at the same time.

There are many people who buy a van and want it to be a sports saloon remap it etc then moan the clutch is carp and tyres only last 8 000 miles. It’s a van that will pull a heavy trailer and carry a load at the same time.
I’m not looking for it to be a sport saloon just want it to tow with ease without struggling I’m really comparing it to my Kia Sportage it’s a 135bhp 2.0l and even that pulls back a bit so just concerned the 102bhp won’t be up to it!

I think you have a right to be concerend tbf. In my empty 102 a recent trip over the pennines had me dropping to 2nd gear for some of the climbs. :eek:
Dread to think what it would have been like pulling an extra 1.3T.
Flat road, no worries, but hills, sloooow!

I’ve just ordered a 204 dsg Sportline but in the end it’s a non aerodynamic box so won’t be ragging it around the streets!
A 85bhp will be fine towing a caravan as the diesels are made for torque towing.

I’m not looking for it to be a sport saloon just want it to tow with ease without struggling I’m really comparing it to my Kia Sportage it’s a 135bhp 2.0l and even that pulls back a bit so just concerned the 102bhp won’t be up to it!