Tailgate LED lighting

fore_endy

Hi

I'm a mobile cycle mechanic who works out of the rear of my lwb kombi.

I'm looking to fit additional lighting to the inside of the tailgate to illuminate my work area when the tailgate is open.

Ideally this would be manually operated rather than in conjunction with the interior lights, to avoid them timing out...

Any ideas would be great.

Cheers

Hi fore_endy, I've moved the standard lights to the centre line (no need to modify wiring just unclipped and relocated) then added 6 new round LED's, 2 in the rear load area either side of the factory light fed off a switch on the left side of the loading area, 2 in the tailgate again fed off a switch on the left of the loading area and the other 2 have individual switches in the roof for the rear passengers. I got the lights off a mate who wasn't using them but they look the same as the ones in @Pauly forum shop. Hope this helps. The difference is unbelievable! Oh and all this is fed from my factory fit second battery under the passenger seat.

IMG_7324.JPG

IMG_7326.JPG

Wow, that looks great, more than enough light to work by.

Was the wiring tricky, I'm not particularly electrically minded....

Thanks

If you don't have the second battery you will have to take a fused feed direct from the battery or from the fuse box under the passenger seat if fitted.

Wiring was easy as I have added a small fuse panel under the passenger seat. Each circuit is fed individually and once the roof panels are down it was a piece
of cake. As for connecting into existing wiring @travelvolts has far more knowledge than me on where to tap a supply from.