Snapped bolt of pop-top scissor hinge

descall

The central bolt of a scissor hinge on my pop-top snapped whilst lower the roof yesterday. I've put a temporary bolt back in its place, but it was really difficult to replace since getting the holes aligned required a lot of effort with the roof elevated (lots of pushing and pulling). As you can see from the third image, when the roof is erected the temorary replacement bolt is under a lot of lateral pressure. It seems things are not aligned properly. The original installation in 2018 was undertaken by a professional campervan conversion outfit, now no longer trading. I'm concerned the problem will arise again. Does anyone have advice with regards to what remedial works may need undertaking, beyond simply replacing the bolt? I have no experience with installing pop-tops. Thanks very much for any help.

20210802_145548.jpg

20210801_113453.jpg

20210802_145711.jpg

I can’t comment on the alignment, there are a lot of forces at play with an elevated roof.
Regarding the bolt; you shouldn’t need a high tensile grade 8 bolt.
Fit stainless steel but make sure it is A4 not A2, A2 is more susceptible to cracking.
There should probably be a nylon washer between the two arms, not sure if that’s what is shown in your photo.
Use a new Nyloc nut, it’s important that it’s not tightened too much as the arms need to pivot without jamming the nylon washer.
The bolt should not protrude through the nut by more than two threads, if too long hacksaw it to the correct length and file the end smooth.

Obviously check the other side as this could also be failing.
It’s best to carry out this work with the roof as low as possible but still allowing access. It maybe best to support it inside to take load off the struts.
If in doubt seek professional help.

I can’t comment on the alignment, there are a lot of forces at play with an elevated roof.
Regarding the bolt; you shouldn’t need a high tensile grade 8 bolt.