Replacing a lost solar panel on a pop top - advice needed.

Ayjay

VIP Member
T6 Legend
My apologies in advance for the length of this post but I thought it was necessary to give a bit of background as well as asking for advice. Firstly, here's the pictures:
003.JPG
001.jpg
002.jpg

As some will already have read in my post about our recent trip to South of France, the 160W flexible solar panel decided to go for an impromptu flying lesson from the West Dubs pop top while we were driving down a French motorway at 70 MPH – luckily there was not many cars on the road and I don’t think there was any further consequences behind us. I had always thought that it was stuck down with Sikaflex but looking at the residue on the roof, I now see that it was actually double-sided tape that was used. I’m no expert but I think we got lucky in that there does not seem to be any actual damage to the roof. Indeed, even the two small holes that the installer drilled for the cable to go through have retained their waterproof integrity. We didn’t get much notice of it happening apart from a short burst of noise on the roof followed by a thump as it came completely away and ripped itself free of the cables and junction box which stayed behind – I subsequently cut the wires about ¼” out to try to tidy it up and stop it all flapping about in the wind.