Replacing 12v Constant with Ignition Live?

tim_T6

I've got a dash cam to install in my T6, it's a fairly simple system, receives power from a 12v source, and turns on/starts recording when it receives power, and turns off when it doesn't.

Unfortunately I found out this morning that both 12v ports in the cabin are constant live, meaning the dash cam will remain on all of the time draining the battery, unless I manually pull the power everytime I get out of the van, a little annoying.

Does anyone know of a simple way to re-wire one of the 12v outlets to receive ignition live so that it turns on and off with the ignition?

I have basic knowledge of electrics, but could crimp a cable to another if pointed in the right direction.

Thanks in advance!

The fusebox in lower dash under radio has a 12V ignition rail, it's the small fuses in the centre row, you would need to remove a bit of dash trim to get a wire down there though so may be easier to pick up something behind radio I'm assuming there will be a 12v switched into the rear of that
Personally I would avoid altering the factory wiring too much just in case something goes wrong and affects warranty, Sod's law says it'll bite you in the ass

Can't imagine T6 will be too different to T5 in this regard. I'm in process of doing this exact thing to my T5.

As Pauly says, middle row of mini fuses in fusebox in lower dash under radio/heater controls. In T5 it's accessed via a screw and the panel pops down. I'm using the 'fuse 19' idea (google it) using a piggyback fuse holder. Completely reversible, i.e. no hacking into wires. I'm going to feed this into my glovebox to feed a twin 12v outlet into which I'll plug my 2 dashcams. I still want the ability to swap them back into the constant lives for times I want to use their 'parking mode' (motion detection) as their in-built batteries are crap.

Not to promote another forum, but I got the info from this thread: LINK

Thanks for your replies, exactly what I was after!