Noisy pop-top

Olly787

Just had test drive of a T6. There was a lot of aerodynamic noise from this pop-top above about 50mph.

Is this normal? What do you think of the gap between seal and pop top here? Any fix ideas?

Really appreciate any advice as the van seems great otherwise.

067EC817-711A-4B6D-B357-F72EBF871F9B.jpeg

Never seen a setup like that before. That looks to me like the pop-top has been replaced, and the original seal kept in place / not changed.

I get wind noise from mine above 50mph, always assumed normal but I could be wrong

I get wind noise from mine above 50mph, always assumed normal but I could be wrong
Really? Interesting...I get zero noise from mine at any speed. You'll see (sort of) from this image that the seal and the start of the roof are much closer than in the image that @Olly787 shared.

1668438708792.png

Agree that every brand will be different...but I would have expected the seal to be close(r) to the lid itself. I'm no expert btw ;) ...but I'm unsure why there'd be the need for such a gap if the seal and pop-top were fitted at the same time. My layman understanding of aerodynamics would lead me to think the air would flow over the top of the seal and then 'get at' the lip of the pop-top. Which is what I'm assuming is the cause of the noise here.

I’d check that the pop-top is flush/seated all the way round as sometimes if the canvas has trapped or you’ve got something in the roof space stopping it from dropping properly it can also cause wind noise.

I have had a similar set up as the OP

86E8C644-352E-4AE6-BA07-9D2D6F710152.jpeg

I glued some hard foam 2”x 3/4” in the roof channels under where the pop top sits. It made a huge difference and no I didn’t have any problem with water drainage as the bit under the pop top didn’t ever get very wet. Perhaps just check and clean out when using