MOT Failed - Help / Advice needed :(

Parvus

VIP Member
T6 Pro
Hi,

I have a 2018 T6 Highline and today it failed it's MOT relating to the front suspension. I'm no expert, so trying to find the best path to solve the problem and hoping people can advise. To my knowledge and experience, the van was absolutely fine and I never noticed any strange driving characteristics or issues.

The MOT was completed by VW Van Centre and they confirmed the front driver side nut and plate was missing in the strut assembly. The van was converted and updated with Stance+ suspension by the converter. VW cannot replace non-approved parts so have provided me two options:
1) Replace 2 Std front suspension, shocks and coilovers @£1200 - makes no sense as likely raise the front and not a matching rear.
2) Replace whole suspension with Eibach coilovers (lowered 30mm) @£1800

I'm wondering can I find someone to replace my Stance+ setup, no idea what I need assume 1 x front. OR do I take this moment to update all suspension to an alternative. Not really the expense I intended from the MOT.

Anyone can help advise, possible suggestions?

Matt
(gutted, van off the road until resolved)

Is an issue with the converters workmanship, if you are still under warranty they should be the first port of call.

Your not committed to just use vw you can take vehicle away repair yourself or arrange this and then get retested, although this has probably gone down as a major so if you wanted to take away you’ll have to get it recovered

@ChrisR is just a hop down the road for you though I think he is suffering restrictions due to lockdown (not deemed an “essential business”, can you believe it?!!)

Thanks all for the prompt responses. I've phoned my local VW converters (BigVKamper) and they've agreed to investigate for me, just need to find out how to get it there. Also contacting the converter to better understand the original install.