How Old Are You?

I’m 56. Retired from the Fire Service 2 months ago (I was a Business Fire Safety Officer) and now a Health and Safety Officer at TATA Steel. No intention of retiring anytime soon. I’ve a T6 to keep on buying things for lol

I think what makes things worse for me is I hate work, not the place I work for, but just work in general :confused:
In the 80s, 90s and 00s I used to really enjoy my work, but in the corporate world (at least in the major US corporates I worked for) the workplace became an increasingly toxic place following the 2008 banking crisis. It became all about the bottom line, with zero regard for the carbon-based "resources". :mad:

In the 80s, 90s and 00s I used to really enjoy my work, but in the corporate world (at least in the major US corporates I worked for) the workplace became an increasingly toxic place following the 2008 banking crisis. It became all about the bottom line, with zero regard for the carbon-based "resources". :mad:
Sounds rather familiar!

1st “retirement” at 55 followed by 11 years self employed, state pension coming in a month so now finally turning down the jobs as the come in… well almost all of them anyway…

36. Have been in the corporate world for 15 years working for a large US aircraft manufacturer. Conscious that life is passing me by while I have my head in my work iphone all the time so just dropped a shed load of cash on a new California Ocean to hopefully make some memories while the kids are young. Always been super sensible with finances so it’s a bit of a departure from what I’m used to but f*ck it. That little gif from runwithscissors is very true.