How do you measure coilover height?

cy294

VIP Member
T6 Guru
Had Stance+ fitted and yes I know it is a budget coilover and there are better ones out there which are more superior. However, how do you measure the ride height. I know with lowering springs they are either 40 or 50 mm but how do you know with coilovers.

This is a picture I have taken and the measurement is from the bottom lip to the bottom of the locking collar. So what ride have I got. It probably is a really simple answer, but I am new to this game.

Pics below and TIA.

IMG_20200721_112228.jpg

IMG_20200721_112132.jpg

Ride height is measured from the center on the hub to the top of the wheel arch lip with the vehicle on the ground with the suspension 'settled'. -40mm springs will give a ride height of 40mm lower than stock, but this doesn't mean that the springs are 40mm shorter. They compress at different rates and not necessarily at a linear rate. The same applies with coilovers. Moving the adjustable spring platform by say 40mm, won't result in a 40mm drop from where it was when you started.

So to answer your question, the only way that you can work it out is to measure the ride height with them set at their highest setting, then wind them all the way down to see what the difference is, then compare these results to the stock ride height.

Thanks for the replies. If I need to adjust them, do both sides have to be jacked up at the same time or can I do a side at a time?