Fitting Eberspacher D2 - My Experience

Jack T

VIP Member
T6 Guru
Hi All,

Not sure if this is of use but I took a few pictures as I fitted my D2 diesel heater, may help people having a go themselves.

I’m not a pro at fitting these and this is the first I have done, any criticism is welcome.

For reference this is the underslung T6 specific kit and I’m fitting as part of my camper conversion on a 66plate euro 6 LWB highline 150.

So first job up on timber blocks rather than stands as I felt more comfortable that way for this.

So next all the panels off left and right underneath, these were already off for me as doing various bits beneath.

Next located the factory positions for rivnuts under drivers seat area.

Fitted two m6 rivnuts and test fitted bracket, stainless fixings used throughout as I’m a bit of a tart and don’t like rust.

Fitted bracket to heater along with flexi pipe on high pressure side.

Bolted up and fitted high pressure line next, used rubber lined p clips to support. Used all factory holes with rivnuts for this, existing positions perfect. Then clipped along in spare point on existing clips towards tank.

Last edited:
Fuel tank removal next wasn’t looking forward to this but being a newer van the fixings etc were all good. Made sure the tank was ran right down, fuel station was bored of me sticking a tenner in only!

First job disconnect the filler from above, bit tight for this with the adblue filler but with that loosened off I was able to make it pass withough removing the adblue tank.

Straps dropped on tank and lowered on jack. Just enough length on pipes to get it in a workable position. Once out I gave the tank top a really good clean with apc for obvious reasons.

Removed the sender unit, tapped round with a large driver as it was very tight.

My kit had a drill into take dip tube rather than through the sender plate which I was fine with. So sender out and into a bucket with clean bag in.