Any idea how my camper electrics work?

Garyf123

VIP Member
T6 Pro
Hi, I am having a van day today as it is the first time since i bought it last September that i have had a chance to really explore it! It has a PMS 240v - 12v system (Black box under seat with fuses in) with a leisure battery and a 60w solar deck. If i understand this correctly, the PMS unit is there to solely switch from 240v to 12v? The leisure battery is to run the lights and appliances when off grid and once that's flat, you need an electric hook up? I know i have a solar panel that will hopefully keep the leisure battery topped up but one of the things that puzzles me is how else does the LB charge? From reading other posts, i believe it is a myth that the LB charges whilst driving but does charge up when on EHU? If this is correct, does this mean that whilst on a site using EHU and using lights and appliances, the LB is still replenishing?
Apologies for my naivety but i am new to all this!

Thanks,

Gary.

Best not to let your leisure battery go flat, if there is an electric hook-up, use it. Once on a hook-up the battery should always remain fully charged, no matter what appliances are running.

Need more info on the PMS (Model, manufacturer etc.) before I would have any idea what it does. 60W of solar will give a trickle charge to the battery but won't be enough to run a fridge.

The leisure batteries should be set up to charge from the alternator, it would be a big omission if they don't.

Otherwise really need more info, photos etc.

Best not to let your leisure battery go flat, if there is an electric hook-up, use it. Once on a hook-up the battery should always remain fully charged, no matter what appliances are running.

Need more info on the PMS (Model, manufacturer etc.) before I would have any idea what it does. 60W of solar will give a trickle charge to the battery but won't be enough to run a fridge.