Tyres / Alloys - No Clue - Help

czmate1999

VIP Member
T6 Legend
Hi All,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to cars/vans and modifying them in any way - have been trying to learn as much as possible and am just coming on to the wheels and, as I have had a great experience on this forum and with all the posters so far, I thought it might be worth putting this one out there for some advice and possibly some banter :).

My van is a new T6 LWB 4Motion DSG. I am considering adding VB Air, Have considered B14s but want a softer ride and thought what the hell - the wife hasn't asked how much yet, so we are fine!

But now it comes to wheels. Currently it will be supplied with whatever VW do as standard (think 17's on a 4motion) but of course i want it to look cool as well as be practical.

The use of the van will be as the 'main car' for long journeys, camping trips and travelling in Europe. It will be needed to do well on snow and ice and in dodgy fields. Ideally i would only like to have one set of tyres that are good all rounders and all weather.

Colour wise I like the black / dark grey alloys and think that would go well with my indium grey van.

My question is,

1. Given my needs what size alloy/tyre would be best? Have been looking at Cross-Climate by Michelin for the tyre...

I am happy to take all views on this and would welcome being educated!!!

Oh and I am going to get it converted but probably want to get the outside of the van sorted first - or to have at least made all the decisions made.

Many thanks in advance!!

CZ

Last edited:
I've just had 4 235x55x17 Michelin Cross Climate plus fitted to my 204 DSG SWB Kombi. They are comfortable and quiet compared to the shambles of the Jinyu's it came with (I hadn't heard of them either!)
I'm in Glasgow so wanted 1 tyre type for all year as we have a few more sub 7 degree days up here than my favourite place- Cornwall That's about the temperature where winters/cross climates make a difference.