Stopping luggage falling out of the back when opening the tailgate

Javelin

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie - joined the forum in the last couple of weeks, having got my first van, a T6.1 Caravelle in Starlight Blue (pics on the newbie thread).
This is probably a newbie question: we’ve taken the van on it’s first proper holiday trip today, and packed quite a lot of stuff, whilst trying to leave plenty of space in the middle for two teenage boys and two cocker spaniels. When we stopped for a break, and opened the (electric - nice, but slow) tailgate, quite a lot of stuff fell out! I’ve been looking for some kind of luggage net or guard, to stop this happening, and not had much luck so far - I’d really appreciate hearing from forum members how you’ve tackled this problem - I’m really hoping that I’m not the only person to whom this is happening!!!

Cheers!

Did you find anything? This is the exact problem I’m having. I came from a 1st Gen XC90 with a split tailgate, and that was great at having a low-down vertical piece that would keep (most) stuff in when you opened the tailgate. On the Caravelle, I find stuff shifts around and invariably falls out when the tailgate is opened. Finding myself wishing for an opening top glass or split tailgate, but a net or something could also work.

I have seen yesterday an accessory online. It’s Oem boot separator preventing things falling out when opening the tailgate. Can’t find it though. There is one on e any for sale at the moment for 180quid and one for 150. Can’t find it though!

I pop the headrests up and use bungees to hold stuff in.

Also some cheap eBay big duffle bags that you can stuff smaller bags in and then have a few big things stacked up really helps.

Challenge with the Caravelle is finding places to fix stuff if you don't want to be drilling into the swish interior...