Complete Newbies At The Start Of A Long Journey...initial Pointers Needed!

Rapt0rUK

VIP Member
T6 Pro

Hi folks, thanks for taking the time to visit the post!

Here goes, my wife and I are avid campers, have talked for years about owning a campervan and we now think the moons could be aligning and we’re ready to make the leap… we are complete newbies when it comes to campers. Our first port of call was to check out the Cali at a VW garage. Loved it but Jesus, is it crazy expensive!? That ultimately led to the idea of a conversion and subsequently finding our way here to this forum...

As I say, we’re complete newbies and right at the start of our research journey so we have so many questions we need to answer and hoping you can at least point us in the right direction on some of it.

So starting right at the beginning….these are the things we’re currently wrestling with.

Base Van

We’re looking at a T6, 2017, ideally less than 30k miles…

Based on the reading up to now, consensus is split but it seems to make sense to go for a T30 just to give the headroom if you do decide to do anything that adds significant weight (we for sure would add a pop-up roof/bed). We would want the DSG as our current vehicle is an automatic and couldn’t ever go back after driving that for 2 years.

After that it becomes a bit of a minefield…

Panel Van vs Combi – I’ve read some say that if you’re converting, a panel van is easier as it’s a blank canvas and you’re not having to rip out existing carpets etc. to put the insulation in and pay for seats you don’t need. On the other hand, others say the cab in the combi is quieter as it has better base insulation to begin with and some of the windows are already done for you.