So the van caught fire today

Bolo1972

Burned
Hi Guys
I am new to this , and wanted to now if anybody has had any issues with electrical faults on there T6 ? My T6 I purchased brand new back in January 2017 , suddenly caught fire today , and was completely burnt out within 10 mins! Total right off! Anybody had any problems?
Cheers

Someone else on here, last year I think?? had a similar incident.

I'm very sorry to hear of this incident @Bolo1972. Did you have a leisure battery fitted to the van and, if so, was it aftermarket? The reason that I ask is that there are some converters out there who don't yet understand smart alternators.

Thanks for the reply @Bolo1972 and may I suggest that you inform the Dealer and have them contact VW Technical Services as well as your insurers to ensure that there is a full investigation to identify the source of the fire. Were you driving the vehicle or was it parked after being driven? I would suggest that you document the circumstances leading up to the incident as fully as you can in addition to any statements you have made to Fire and Police. Sometimes one recalls details a little later after the initial shock has passed.

Last edited:
Gutted for you mate, not only for the loss of van but the inconveience of tools being lost too.

Thanks for the reply @Bolo1972 and may I suggest that you inform the Dealer and have them contact VW Technical Services as well as your insurers to ensure that there is a full investigation to identify the source of the fire. We're you driving the vehicle or was it parked after being driven? I would suggest that you document the circumstances leading up to the incident as fully as you can in addition to any statements you have made to Fire and Police. Sometimes one recalls details a little later after the initial shock has passed.