Reclaiming VAT on a T32 kombi .

carlg

204 DSG Highline Kombi MY23
VIP Member
T6 Legend
I am new to this VAT game .
Does any one know what to claim back ?
Do you have to allow a percentage of personal use and not claim the full amount back .
Any help would be appreciated.

You can claim the full VAT back on your T32 as it is commercial vehicle over 1000kg, I have always claimed the full amount back without any issues as at times is has been my only transport.
The only issue i have had on one VAT inspection was that i should not claim the Vat back on the fuel i used when it was not for work purposes . Try and work that one out, i just carried on as i have for 20 + years with no problems.

Same here, claimed the lot straight away as listed solely for business use, i also have a private car that helps to back that up.
If claiming the vehicle VAT makes your next VAT return a large refund they sometimes send you a letter asking what/why and you reply to tell them you bought a vehicle

As I understand it, there are variations depending on whether you are a sole trader or working through a limited company. And all this is assuming that your vehicle qualifies as a commercial vehicle:

Sole trader can claim back a proportion of the VAT, just like you can reduce your income by a proportion of the the cost of the vehicle. The proportion relates directly to the estimated split between business and personal miles, and you should have some evidence - like a mileage log - of how you came to that percentage.

For limited companies, it is a lot more "all or nothing". I run a limited company, and am the only director and only employee. About 15% of my mileage is personal, and this is too much to pass off as "incidental". I have the option of treating a new vehicle as a benefit in kind, and paying a fixed annual amount to the revenue in order to claim back 100% of the expenses, including VAT. Information here: Van benefits