My T6.1 Build Thread

iprice606

VIP Member
I am posting this on here as I am hoping it may help others. I am no expert in this at all quite the opposite. I only got into this about 12 months ago as my neighbour converted a T5 and it looked amazing. I was hooked ! I sold my Ranger Rover and decided to embark on this project. I learned a lot of lessons along the way (good and bad) and made some mistakes naturally and I am still a newbie and still learning from all the amazing support and suppliers from here on this forum. Hope you enjoy

1. After selling my ranger rover I thought (wrongly) finding a van would be easy, did I want to go down the path of buying a fully converted or did I want to go on a path of building one to my spec. Now when I say build I mean outsource to the relevant people. Last thing I was going to do was do this myself as it would not work out how I had visioned it in my mind. So I landed on with the wife we wanted to select how we wanted and styles so that directed me to locating a bog standard panel van. We initially set our sights on the Indium Grey van however we could not located them anyway. In fact locating any van with relevant quality, mileage and spec was so tough. In the end I had put my name down at various dealers to notify me when one come in. This started way back last September. In October I received a call from a VW dealer asking if was still looking, they had just had one come through as a demo van the only catch was it was Pure Grey. I said I would come and have a look. I loved the colour instantly, good spec T6.1 Highline and only 7K on the clock. Done deal! A week later as you can see it was sitting on my driveway the day I drove it home.
1. Van Day 1.jpg