Kampa Air Shelter 300

EAN

VIP Member
T6 Guru
I’ve recently purchased a Kampa Air Shelter 300 (still waiting on delivery) to put up by the side of the campervan (also still waiting for delivery) for when we are camping, attaching sides as and when wanted.
I chose it because I didn’t want poles to potentially damage the van and also I didn’t want to have an awning rail on the van itself.
Thought it was a practical solution.
Now I’m confused. I’m a newbie to camping and looking at camp sites for next year quite a few allow awnings but specifically don’t allow gazebos or charge extra for them whilst not charging extra for an awning.
Is it a gazebo? Is it an awning?
I’ve seen it advertised / described as both.
Lots of awnings are more like tents and the Air Shelter looks like a gazebo.
What are others thoughts?
Do you think it would be allowed as it is built for camping, doesn’t have poles and can be well secured to the ground with guides and pegs?
I suppose it will come down to me querying in advance with each site.

If they charge extra for a gazebo, it's an awning (or vice versa) ;)
I expect the campsite will take exactly the opposite view to get a few more pennies!! :)
My main concern is not being able to put it up at all if they consider it to be a gazebo, but cant see what the problem would be.
Maybe I’m overthinking!!

I expect the campsite will take exactly the opposite view to get a few more pennies!! :)
My main concern is not being able to put it up at all if they consider it to be a gazebo, but cant see what the problem would be.
Maybe I’m overthinking!!

I don’t blame you for puzzling on this. I would have the same concern. And some sites squeeze you for every little thing.

Reactions: EAN
In my head, an awning is properly attached to the van, and a gazebo isn’t.

I suspect that campsites are trying to avoid people taking up too much space with a gazebo placed some way from the vehicle.

Pete

Maybe I’m overthinking!!