Interior spotlight comes on by itself

Margo

Hi, I’m a newbie to this forum and also to my T6 only had for about 8 weeks so hoping someone can help me. Noticed just this weekend the interior light above the sliding door has been coming on by itself. Stays on for a while then switches off, but it has happened overnight while parked in the drive. Any suggestions of what causes this?

Post a pic of the light. Is it OEM? Just that light or does the cab light come on too? Have you had any work done to your van?

Sorry not sure what OEM is ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ No work has been done. Only had the camper about 8 weeks. Sitting in my sisters van the weekend looking at mine the light kept coming on. The doors where shut. No other lights come on. Thanks for replying

09FD0A13-CFD7-43E6-970D-FFE6382C1998.jpeg

473B883C-B13B-4D52-9083-CDA97162695D.jpeg

OEM is something VW fitted in the factory.

Your light is aftermarket. How do you turn it on?

Ok. It’s pretty likely the light fitting is faulty rather than the wiring. Try giving the metal bit a wipe perhaps there’s something on it triggering it. If not just swap the fitting for another touch light.

If it stays on long enough then eventually it will. Can you turn your interior lights off using the control panel

I had this even with a couple of brand new touch lights. If these are in fact touch switched?

They seem either hyper sensitive to any skin oils etc staying on them or being even fractionally tight in the fitting hole. They either trigger randomly or won’t switch easily or reliably.

Personally the QC on some of them seems poor.

I resorted to mechanically switched ones

Hi, I’m a newbie to this forum and also to my T6 only had for about 8 weeks so hoping someone can help me. Noticed just this weekend the interior light above the sliding door has been coming on by itself. Stays on for a while then switches off, but it has happened overnight while parked in the drive. Any suggestions of what causes this?