Improving aesthetics whilst driving in the clouds?

Samro

VIP Member
T6 Legend
It was August this year when me and the better half decided that our family Landrover Discovery is in need of replacing. This vehicle doubled up as a work vehicle and a family wagon.

We assessed our requirements in a vehicle and an order for a SWB 4motion T32 was placed.

It took no time at all for the better half to have aspirations on a camper conversion but I refused, as I need the vehicle for work as well as play....... Nag, nag, nag..... and...... a second vehicle (LWB T30) has been ordered with a conversion slot booked for spring 2021!

As a complete newbie to the VW transporter world, I would welcome some views from anyone experienced in this stuff:

I am convinced that the new vans will look very “high“, and I’m thinking 25mm spacers all round will help with the aesthetics, but I’m thinking of sticking with standard ride heights. I will also be sticking with the Devonports on both vehicles largely because I’ll be a but “spent out”, but also because I like them and the higher profile tyres will suit my needs best.

I just wondered what people’s views were on whether the vehicles would look stupid with 25mm spacers at standard ride height with trapezoid bars. If anyone has this set up, a photo or two would be really helpful.

The other thing I can’t decide upon is whether or not a splitter looks stupid when a vehicle is at standard ride height? Again if anyone has any pics this would be handy.

The reason for this request is that I was amazed at how early van converters need decisions! I’ve not even got the first van yet!

Good point, but it’s the SWB work van that I’m getting first. This is a T32 with no weight in it, apart from cargo! Hence the T32. (I like the idea of a “Sunday best” work van!) It will need to be functional, but I’d like to make it look like it’s not just been hired from Hertz!