Hot water systems

OllieGBR

VCDS user
VIP Member
T6 Guru
With the potential challenges of camping this year I’m thinking of adding a hot water tank to my design. I have a 45ltr under chassis mounted water tank with the filler and a shower outlet that will mounted on the outside.
I don’t want any gas so looking at an electric unit only and maybe break my rule if not having an inverter for when we’re not on electric hook up.
What are you’re experienced? Best solutions? Not being able to get out and atttend shows where I can glean all of this information is tedious!
Thanks
Ollie.

Few ideas here, especially page 2

Pete

Have you got a diesel heater fitted? I'm still learning on here, but my van (currently being done by Three Bridge) has hot water supplied via the cabin heater circuit (Webasto Duo Top), and a shower outlet at the rear.

Three Bridges conversion, envious!!
I live in Milton Keynes, just can't afford their conversions!

I have fitted my own Planar diesel heater, I don't think this has the option for water heating. Thanks for the suggestion though:)

Three Bridges conversion, envious!!
I live in Milton Keynes, just can't afford their conversions!

I have fitted my own Planar diesel heater, I don't think this has the option for water heating. Thanks for the suggestion though:)
Ha! Sold the wife and kids and that only paid for the seatbelts! As each day goes by I find something else to add to the cost, so when they finish in about three weeks I'll have to sell the dog and a couple of kidneys!!:slow rofl:

fitted a surecal 6l calorifier for my sister on her crafter conversion. quality bit of kit with a 12v heater element. easily enough water for 2 hot showers when mixed with cold and the engine running. i wired it so if the engine (not ignition)was running then the heater was on, worked really well.