Dometic fridge orange light flashing solar supply

Julie274

Hi I have a Dometic fridge in my van running off solar the orange light is flashing - any ideas how to get it working properly?

image.jpg

7508773F-6E37-4D28-B481-957B24C8320F.jpeg

Why do you think it’s not work properly?

I thought amber compressor light just means the compressor is off.
Flashing red service light above this indicates fault.

Simon

More info...

What's the leisure battery voltage?

Interesting - that’s from the CRE050 manual - I can’t see a similar description in the CRX050 manual - although I guess the same applies

Simon

I have a fix for this issue. I’m no expert and the order of how I got it working may be wrong but with a bit of tinkering the fridge reset.

Make sure the leisure battery is charged to max then disconnect from mains. Pull all fuses out of your main fuse box and disconnect leisure battery. Start engine then I put all fuses back in and reconnected the leisure battery. This cleared the fault and the fridge is now working fine. It is something to do with the supply to the fridge.

This issue was definitely caused by letting the leisure battery run flat which I know is a big no. This in turn then caused the fridge to malfunction because the supply was too low. Sorry the way I’ve described isn’t very technical but it worked for me so it’s worth a try as I was about to buy a new leisure battery. Just so you know I found out how to do this from the people who converted my van so it wasn’t a guess. Just be safe when tinkering with the electrics.

@Lucas phil84

I'd suggest first of all completely disconnecting the fridge and leaving it that way for a while to let any charge fade away to ensure the controller isn't in an odd state.

Then check the general health of the leisure battery and the soundness of the fridge wiring.