CTEK and Sargent EC155 switched live

VdubVirgin

VIP Member
Hi,

so installing the CTEK DC-DC charger and Sargent EC155 this week.

I am aware the CTEK needs to be attached to a switched live in fuse Board and have for a piggy back to do this. I believe middle row 3 Down?

my question is the Sargent also needs a connection for running signal.... could I simply split the same piggyback connector or best using another one, if so which one?

I am not an expert so please do your own research but I think the run signal for the Sargent is so that it disables the internal 12v supply when running to comply with some old regulations and also for the operation of a 3 way fridge as found in caravans. So you should consider not installing this connection.
I have a Sargent 328 and I have pulled the fuse to disable the ‘run’ feature.

I am not an expert so please do your own research but I think the run signal for the Sargent is so that it disables the internal 12v supply when running to comply with some old regulations and also for the operation of a 3 way fridge as found in caravans. So you should consider not installing this connection.
I have a Sargent 328 and I have pulled the fuse to disable the ‘run’ feature.
To be honest can't work it out.

the wiring diagram for the Sargent needs relay fitted with switched live, power from starter battery? Really not sure the need for it when using a dc dc charger

To be honest can't work it out.

the wiring diagram for the Sargent needs relay fitted with switched live, power from starter battery? Really not sure the need for it when using a dc dc charger
Exactly - what the run signal seems to do is turn on the split relay charging (which you don’t want/need), turn off all the internal 12v supply (which may want to use when driving such as internal lights, phone charger) and operate the 3 way fridge (which you don’t have).
I disconnected mine ages ago with no ill effects.