Upgrade from Sargent EC155 Advice Request

RikParr73

T6 Pro
Hi all

I've been running the Sargent EC155 for the last 5 years or so and it's done the job. I've just upgraded to a Lithium Fogstar battery from my lead acid LB and the Sargent now keeps alarming randomly for high voltage. I've not changed anything else and have read that the Sargent's don't like Lithium - so my first question would be is this correct? Secondly I am thinking of perhaps upgrading the Sargent for a better system (I have read that Sargent aren't the best, depending on who wrote what) so would welcome any suggestions/recommendations of a suitable upgrade. I just run the usual stuff, fridge, lights, and USB. I have a 120w fixed solar panel too that runs via Victron 100 MPPT. The Sargent is fitted on the panel of the T6 LWB behind the drivers seat area (Where the sliding would go if it had one on that side) with all the wiring going from there to under the passenger single seat. Could I potentially use the existing loom from the Sargent, anything else I should be aware of etc? Thanks in advance, Rik.

Have you connected your Fogstar directly in place you used to have an AGM battery?

If you don't have an existing DC-DC charger and haven't fitted one then you will be connecting your AGM van battery directly to your Lithium battery via the split charge relay in the Sargent - and that's a very risky thing to do given the very different voltage profiles. The PSU in the Sargent is also likely not charging the Lithium in a way that is good for it, if it's charging at all.

Likewise have you altered the charging profile in your solar charger?

Apologies, Yes I have the CTEK 250 DC-DC charger, prob should have mentioned that lol, sorry. With regards to changing the profile in the solar charger, I guess this is done in the victron app - i'll check that. Are the required profile settings obvious or is there a preferred setup I need to be aware of?

So how are the Sargent/Victron/CTEK/Battery connected?