Basic travel tool kit recommendations

mamajules

Hello all, sorry if this is in the wrong section! As I'm getting more used to my van I was thinking I ought to carry a few essential tools/bits with me as I travel and wondered if any of you can help me pop a kit together? I confess I'm not a mechanic at all but thinking there must be some items I need ie: jump leads? (if so are there particular ones I need for my van (T6.1). Sorry it's such a basic question. Mamajules x

I bought one of these (listed below) and store it under bed. I have not used it on our van, but did help out another campervan last year withit.
pack.jpg
Tools Link

I also carry one of these - very useful:
volt.jpg
Clamp Meter

I'm sure others will have loads to add

Last edited:
Hello all, sorry if this is in the wrong section! As I'm getting more used to my van I was thinking I ought to carry a few essential tools/bits with me as I travel and wondered if any of you can help me pop a kit together? I confess I'm not a mechanic at all but thinking there must be some items I need ie: jump leads? (if so are there particular ones I need for my van (T6.1). Sorry it's such a basic question. Mamajules x
How much travelling abroad will you be doing ?

Pete

No as I have one of these fitted:
ster.jpg
I had it fitted to our old motorhome and in 7 years vehicle battery never failed in all weathers. Moved to camper van and battery always shows 12.9volts whilst in garage.
Link:
Battery Maintainer
There are other makes.

As I will be most unlikely to do any physical repairs, I limit myself to the following:-

Credit card
Warranty/breakdown cover docs

For repairing breakages:-
Gaffa tape.
Assorted cable ties
Gorilla glue
Epoxy putty

Spare fuses
Multimeter to check for power/ or lack of it
Adjustable spanner
Multi head screwdriver

And some sticky felt pads to deal with any squeaks and rattles that appear.

Whilst I’m on an roll..

A spare key to get me back in.