Wheel upgrade / lowering options

vdubmarky

Hi everyone, I could do with some help. My T6 T28 is currently on factory 17" alloys with 235/55/17 tyres. You can see the gaps between the wheels & arches in the photos, 65mm on the rear & 100mm at the front. Ultimately id like to have some wolfrace wolfsburg Gloss Black alloys on the van but want the gaps to close up a bit, don't want them to look lost like my current wheels do.

I've had a good look through the forums to try and figure out what the best option is but I'm just confused. Im thinking 20" and leave lowering alone or 18" and look at lowering? I'm new to all this, very much appreciate any helpful advice and guidance you may have. Thanks.

IMG_20210626_125042.jpg

IMG_20210626_125104.jpg

Hi, welcome to the forum and welcome to the potential minefield of wheels and suspension.

Is your van a camper conversion, or carrying a lot of weight in the rear for any other reason? I ask because the rear is a lot lower than the front based on your photos and measurements, so whatever your decision, I would advise having that corrected to ensure the van drives the way it should.

You don't necessarily have to choose between 20s and standard height, or 18s and lowering. If you choose the correct suspension, you can comfortably run a 20" wheel and lower the van, whilst improving handling, looks and ride quality. There are so many options to help close those arch gaps correctly whilst also improving the ride and handling that it sometimes helps to discuss it over the phone or by DM.

If you would like some further details as to what might best suit your needs and some ideas on pricing, send me a DM or give me a call in the week using the details in the signature below. We can then discuss exactly what it is you want to achieve and exactly how best to achieve it.

Cheers,

Chris.

I have a brand new Caravelle factory suspension for sale that would lower your van 30mm then 17inch alloys would look fine