Various faults in Engine ECU - T6 Caravelle

FairyCakes230

VIP Member
Good morning lovely T6 folks, I was really hoping my initial posts would be about how brilliant my Caravelle is and how wonderful all the bits and pieces are that I'm adding to the van. However... I'm after some help from you clever engineering types.

I've had the van 2 months, and the other day had to call out the RAC for the second time when it wouldn't start. After checking various bits and pieces, the RAC chap said it looked like there was a common Transporter fault at play, namely water ingress in the engine ECU.

I've looked through the forums for advice and so as not to duplicate a post, but this issue doesn't seem to be mentioned. Previously even seemingly niche problems have loads of brilliant information on here that has helped me fix early niggles with the garage (like the serviced DSG playing silly with the go pedal.)

So it seems strange to be a common Transporter fault. My major issue is the driveability of the car before it goes to the garage. RAC chap said take it straight in, but VW commercial have said if there's no warning lights in the car then it's fine and safe to drive until it goes in for its diagnostic. In amongst all the diagnostic codes in the RAC report is a reference to the airbag. I don't want to be driving me and certainly not the little one if the airbag's not powered, but this is me as a nervous layman, and possibly massively overreacting.

I thought I'd ask you engineering wizards what you think. Extra puzzle for when you've finished the Wordle. Report and diagnostic from the RAC call out copied below.

Thanks for an awesome site, I love reading the stuff on here, it's brilliant.

James

RAC:
"various faults in engine ecu requires further investigation workshop enviroment asap.