T6 DSG - Manual mode - swap up and down direction on shifter?

maxtorque

Hi All,

I'd like to swap the DSG lever direction for the DSG manual shift! Currently it is pull back to shift down and push forwards to shift up, but i would like to swap it round to make 1) more intuitive as you tend to shift down when braking and up when accelerating and 2) the same as my other car as i tend to get into my T6 and shift the wrong way all the time......

Looks like there 7 wires to the DSG selector, none are twisted pairs so this is either hardwired switches or a LIN bus to the DSG controller. Anyone have the wiring pin-out for the selector? 2018 T6 DSG

If i can't do it with a simple pin change in the connector, i'll look at getting another selector and doing it as a pcb mod as it looks like the selector has a hall effect or mech switch pcb inside that detects which way the lever has been moved (before anyone gets too worried, i'm an electronics engineer by trade so this isnt' actually too hard :cool:

I'd also like to get a steering wheel with paddles, and i've heard that it is possible to swap in something from another VW and make it work with the T6's DSG?

Any info / help appreciated, thanks!

All VW DSG manual selectors have always been the wrong way round. It's been like that for nearly 20 years, so I'd guess if there was a simple adaptation, it would have been done and all over the internet by now.

Swapping the steering wheel for one with paddles is a simple enough mod. If you did that, I don't see any reason why you'd need to use the lever at all.

I did this on my 2003 BMW E39 535i Sport, not really sure why as I never ever used manual mode, It was just a case of swapping some wires around and buying a new gear lever surround.
Hopefully it'll be just as simple on the T6.

I must be so dull cos I like it the way it is. Up for up a gear, down for down a gear. Simples!